In the name of ALLAH, the most beneficient, the most merciful

GAT (Graduate Assessment Test) - General

Online NTS Exam Preparation

The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has assigned National Testing Service (NTS) the responsibility to conduct Graduate Assessment Test GAT-GENERAL.

  • The test result will remain valid for 2 years for admissions in M. Phil and HEC Scholarship Schemes
  • Candidates intending to improve their previous GAT score can also apply.
  • The candidates will have to qualify other specified criteria of the Universities/HEC Schemes.
  • Candidates with a minimum of 16 years of education are eligible to appear in the test.

GAT-GENERAL is distributed into 3 categories (A, B, C) according to 3 disciplines to accomodate all fields of study for the distribution of questions appear in the paper. Detail is tabulated below. Click any category to view the fields of study in the relevant discipline.

GAT ABusiness Education
Engineering & Technology
GAT BArts & Humanities
Social Science
GAT CAgriculture & Veterinary Sciences
Biological & Medical Sciences
Physical Sciences
GAT DReligious Studies
Madrassa background

From above table, it is clear that each test type consists of 100 questions, divided in 3 sections (verbal, quantitative, analytical). These 3 sections may contain 9 types of questions. Each question is in a multiple choice format, with 4 or 5 possible answers. These sections and types of questions are given below:

GAT (Graduate Assessment Test) - Subject

These tests are prepared on international level, i.e. to assess students' capability and existing knowledge in their specific/major area of study and have also been conducted for admissions, recruitment and scholarships of MS & PhD programs. These tests are held 2 times a year. The scores of this test remain valid for 1 year. Candidates with a minimum of 18 years of education are eligible to appear in the test. The high score of GAT-subject may help candidates in achieving scholarship from Higher Education Commission.